Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  11 6 9 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /GrandinRoad/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper Holder 2.9 5 31 32
Post, Flower Box and Newspaper Holder Just love the whole package!!!! Looks great, installs great!!! July 15, 2013
Door Fell Off! The door fell off the mailbox after about one year of installation. It appears the weld between the door and bracket hinge was faulty. I've read several similar reviews. Will GrandinRoad send us a new mailbox? How have other customers dealt with this imperfection? June 29, 2013
Poor Copper Mailbox Quality The copper mailbox was purchased and installed less than 2 years ago. About 6 months ago I noticed that the brass frame around the door was broken and the door was slightly bent, as with many other reviewers I thought that the mailman had done this. I am extremely disappointed with the quality and construction of this product, especially at a cost of more than 5 times that of a steel mailbox. We liked the look of the mailbox and post when we first got it but that didn't last long, the copper quickly changed to a black color and the mailbox needs to be constantly cleaned with a copper cleaner to keep the look that was advertised. We will not buy another! June 4, 2013
Evaluate this product before purchasing Installing this product was fair from easy. The no-dig mounting post holder screwed into the ground fairly easily, but you better hope that you don't hit any rocks or other hard underground objects! It is almost impossible to ensure that the unit is perfectly aligned. Attaching the 4 x 4 post to the base requires two people. One to hold the post and the other to install the 5 bolts. The easiest part of the installation was slipping the plastic post over the 4 x 4. Connecting the arm (which holds the mail box) to the post was also a feat since the bolts and screws did not easily fit through the plastic cap covers and also hindered the tightening. Again two people are needed for this procedure. The assembly instructions could be much clearer and include better drawings of the various steps and what the final result should look like. But here comes the real problem: if you don't order the mailbox WITH the post, you will find an enclosed flyer for ordering a mailbox from another company. This company will ship you a mailbox but not the needed hardware for attaching to the post unless you call them back and complain. The mailbox company's customer service dept. will then explain that their mailboxes are designed to be installed on THEIR posts! While you are waiting for the added fasteners to arrive, be prepared for the Post Office to put a hold your mail. Why was this company's flyer even included in Grandinroad's post package? And without any instructions for attaching the mailbox to the arm. Total time spent in installation: 3+ hours. April 8, 2013
Please don't waste your money for beauty! I bought this mailbox because I absolutely loved the look of it and wanted it for its curb appeal. I had just finished landscaping my yard and thought it would be a beautiful addition. I bought the mailbox and chose to ignore a lot of the reviews about the quality of the mailbox and the door breaking off, thinking "it wouldn't happen to me." Well, it did. It broke right off after about six months. And unless you have a metal worker at home, I believe it is irreparable. Please don't waste your money just because it is beautiful. February 5, 2013
Dont buy This was my dream mailbox for our new home we purchased in 2008 Beautiful and wonderful comments but the door on the mail box cracked all the way across up above the hinge and broke off This mailbox was well taken care of Too expensive to break for no reason October 16, 2012
Mailman This is the second copper mailbox I have purchased, they are fantastic October 31, 2012
Copper Mailbox This is the second Copper Mailbox (with post and newspaper holder & numbers) we have ordered. The first one was purchased for our former home in New Jersey and now this recent one in Florida. In both instances the copper does not stay for longer than two weeks. The brilliant copper color faded to brown within two weeks of being put in place. The NJ mailbox was purchased and installed in 2008 and faded immediately and just kept turning darker brown over the years until our move this year. This is truly an inferior product. It looks great in your pictures and when you install it, but has a very short life of looking nice. October 25, 2012
Great looking, poor construction I made the decision to buy a second mailbox after my first one failed me after a few years. I couldn't find a comparable product cheaper or as nice. They are very expensive so it wasn't an easy decision. Like many other customers, my door fell off (first becomes cracked at the edges and then completely breaks off). They need to redesign the bottom of the door to reinforce the copper. The mailbox is great, but the poor construction and eventual limited life makes the quality of the product for the end user low. Even though I have purchased two, I would not recommend. July 10, 2012
Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper holder Very pretty but very difficult to assemble. Nothing measures up so you will need to manipulate the pieces to assemble. A talented handman or handywoman should be required. lol. Please note the copper maibox is actually copper and not copper-colored steel. Nice! We will eventually enjoy it but after taking all day to assemblewe are not enjoying it so much right now. Cheers! May 4, 2012
Mailbox issues I've had the mailbox set for several years now and my door just broke off of the mail box. I love the set as it really adds curb appeal, and was going to order a new mailbox. ( I thought the mailman broke the door off) after reading all the reviews on this mailbox I will pass and get one somewhere else April 22, 2012
Buyer beware, door will break We have had this mailbox for several years. The box looks great, but as described in many of the other reviews, the door design is poor and now has broken off and is unrepairable. Not the quality expected for this price, and surprised continue to sell given the problem. January 22, 2012
Great looking but poor quality Nice looking mailbox and it was easy to put up. We've had it up for a year now and just noted the hinge pin on the left side of the mailbox is broken. Was hoping it would have held up longer for the price. January 18, 2012
Very poor quality Purchased this product a year ago and we are very disappointed with the quality of the post. It is now bending over in the center from the weight of the copper mailbox. The plastic is turning from a white to a pitted black/white. December 24, 2011
Love it! This mailbox 'set' is great! It really dressed up the house even from the cub. Only draw back: copper mailbox will discolor within days. It turns to a black color which actually looks ok. GrandinRoad assured me the mailbox would return to it's copper 'glory' by using a copper cleaner.....we'll have to see. Would buy again..... :0) November 23, 2011
not best quality I purchased the mailbox and post a year ago and it has great curb appeal however the quality of the mailbox is not good. The brass that wraps the door and brass edges of the mailbox hit each other when the door it open which will eventually crack the copper door and the hindge will break causing the mailbox to be useless as there is not fix. It is a very poor design and I will be taking it up with customer service to see what can be done. Even if it is replaced the same issue will happen in time as indicated in some other reveiws. November 18, 2011
Perfect Mailbox Our son gave us this Post, Mailbox, Flower Box, Newspaper Holder along with the solar light for the top of the post and the "easy" installer for our wedding anniversary. It is one of the best gifts we've every received. It was easy to install & is absolutely, positively gorgeous. September 27, 2011
Mailbox review I installed the black post and copper mailbox. It has great curb appeal. My wife loves it! I read the other reviews and agree that some of the plastic parts are lower quality than what I have come to expect from Grandinroad. The plastic, flower box was a little warped, but I was able to make it work. All in all, we are very happy with it. September 5, 2011
Copper mailbox love this piece. I have it for 4 years but of course the copper has weathered and now the mailbox door flap has broke off. Please aware August 14, 2011
Did not last three years???? First, I want to say I love this mailbox!!! But, I just noticed after three years the mail box door has ripped on both sides near the bottom and started to seperate from the hinges. I would not even know how to fix it. So, I cannot recomend this product due to durability issues. We bought this becasue we thought it was beautiful and would last atleast 10 years. I guess not. August 8, 2011
LOVE IT! purchased the post&mailbox last august ... held up through one of the worst winters in New England and I love love love seeing it as i drive into our driveway. VERY satisfied even though it cost more than i truly wanted to spend. June 10, 2011
One of the flimsiest products I've ever bought The problem with this product is NOT the Mailbox, which is indeed beautiful, well made, solid, all of the above. The problem is with the accompanying assembly, which is one of the most shoddily made products I've ever put together. The plastic is warped; the pre-drilled holes are the wrong size; the center column's spacing at the bottom allows it to wiggle easily around the center 4x4. The warped nature of the plastic means that the pieces do not fit together properly without gapping. Even replacing the worst-warped piece we received with our order didn't make things better. Several screws and washers were missing, and in the assembly process, I ended up having to use all three of my drill sets because of the varying sizes of bolts and screws. The mounting mechanism to attach the mailbox to the newspaper holder amounts to nothing more than putting woodscrews into plastic. And the screws they DO send along with the custom numbers will pierce right through the sides of the holder -- hello, ripped newspaper every morning. The quality in the design and assembly was just completely absent. As pretty as the mailbox is, and as pretty as the assembly is if you're standing at a distance, it is flimsy and warped, unsteady and ill-designed, and it is just not what one expects at this price point. Buy the mailbox: skip the rest. May 13, 2011
Classy! We have had this mailbox up for about a month now and it is gorgeous. Really classes up our curbside! May 2, 2011
<<prev2
(5 Questions : 5 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper Holder
 
1 answer

can you substitute the copper mailbox with a locking mailbox?

Customer avatar
by
slywbt
Mount Vernon, WA, USA
4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
slywbt
Mount Vernon, WA, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
you can buy each piece individually, so you can choose which pieces you need and use a different mailbox with the other piece of the collection.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper Holder
 
1 answer

Copper Mailbox Cleaning

Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
New Jersey, USA
What is the best way to clean the copper mailbox? It has become tarnished over the winter with black spots and streaks and would like to return it to original copper finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
5 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
New Jersey, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Grandin Road. The copper can be cleaned by using these methods or buying a copper cleaner:

Salt, Vinegar, and Flour. Dissolve 1 teaspoon salt in 1 cup white vinegar. Add enough flour to make a paste. Apply the paste to copper and let sit for 15 minutes to 1 hour. Rinse with clean warm water, and polish dry.

Lemon and Salt or Baking Soda. Make a paste of lemon juice and salt, and rub with a soft cloth, rinse with water, and dry. Or use a slice of lemon sprinkled with baking soda. Rub copper with the lemon slice and rinse with water and dry. Vinegar and Salt. Pour vinegar over the surface Sprinkle salt over the acid and rub in the mixture. Rinse with warm water and polish dry.

Lemon Juice and Cream of Tartar. Make a paste of lemon juice and cream of tartar. Apply, leave on for 5 minutes, and then wash in warm water. Dry with a soft cloth.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about SFGrandinRoadSVC is loaded.
Additional information about SFGrandinRoadSVC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Jim
NC
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Grandin Road. The Signature Mail Post must be mounted into the ground.
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JMGrandinroadService is loaded.
Additional information about JMGrandinroadService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
..
1 year, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper Holder. The Internal size of the flowerbox is 15"l x 8"w x 7.5" deep and it bolts to the post.
1 year, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MZGrandinroadService is loaded.
Additional information about MZGrandinroadService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
Copper Mailbox
 
1 answer

What is this post made out of?

Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
 on Copper Mailbox
I am curious what this post is made out of so that I can hopefully add the house number to the corbel section of the post. Do you have any numbers or plaques that would go with this mailbox post?
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. The post offered with this mailbox is made from weatherproof polyethylene. We do offer our Set of Two Signature Plus Post Plaques, item 71727 to compliment this post.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMGrandinroadService is loaded.
Additional information about KMGrandinroadService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 of 1
1 of 1
Product:26697-Post, Mailbox, Flower Box, and Newspaper Holder
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???