Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBGRA
  11 6 9 More... More... text html 2000 300

No-dig Mounting System

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /GrandinRoad/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper Holder is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! When my husband installed this mailbox I thought it would look nice and a little different from the ones all our neighbors had so I was on board but not enthused. I don't really know what I was expecting, but when I got my flowers in the little box on the post it was absolutely gorgeous and very classy looking. Gives our house a soft and pretty look. Worth every penny, would buy again.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mailbox Post received many compliments from neighbors on mailbox post. It was easy to install because I just placed over existing wood post....looks really nice
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant Upgrade We ordered the full mail post combo in black with the copper mailbox and finally got around to installing it 5 months later and wow am I glad we did! Fairly easy to install and got it perfectly level on the first try (recommend two people). The copper box is just beautiful and the whole set has a very substantial look and love that it's maintenance free.
Date published: 2014-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! purchased the post&mailbox last august ... held up through one of the worst winters in New England and I love love love seeing it as i drive into our driveway. VERY satisfied even though it cost more than i truly wanted to spend.
Date published: 2011-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! A New Mailbox! Our old mailbox and newspaper box were showing their age, and I had been looking for replacements that were a "cut above" boxes on a post. After searching the Internet, as well as home improvement stores, I ordered this post and newspaper holder. The price was certainly more than I wanted to pay, so I'm hoping we won't have to replace it any time soon! Pros: It looks great and my husband said it was easy to assemble and install (we ordered the "no-dig" kit.) Cons: Obviously, the price; and I had a hard time finding a mailbox that would fit. I didn't want the copper box shown in the the catalog, and the only box that I halfway liked had a silver flag and handle, which I didn't want since I had also ordered the decorative plaque for the house number in black/gold. We ended up buying that one and painting the flag and the handle.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mailman This is the second copper mailbox I have purchased, they are fantastic
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No screws Ground anchor worked great, but attach the 4x4 first so you can keep it plumb as you screw it in the ground. Warning: they don't include the screws for mounting the box to the post. I used four 1/4-20 x 2" screws and nuts and washers. Put the box on the post and use an awl through the mailbox holes to punch a hole through the top of the newspaper box to mark where to drill. To put the screws in use a real short screwdriver in the mailbox while you hold a wrench on the nuts in the paper box. It looks nice once it's up.
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mailbox review I installed the black post and copper mailbox. It has great curb appeal. My wife loves it! I read the other reviews and agree that some of the plastic parts are lower quality than what I have come to expect from Grandinroad. The plastic, flower box was a little warped, but I was able to make it work. All in all, we are very happy with it.
Date published: 2011-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Order is a dis-appointment We did not want the flower box so we thought we would save money by buying the items separately, imagine our surprise when we paid more without the flower box. The box and post are very attractive and we are pleased with their look & quality One thing we are not pleased with is your not furnishing mounting hardware with the box and not listing it as such. VERY cheap.
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! This mailbox 'set' is great! It really dressed up the house even from the cub. Only draw back: copper mailbox will discolor within days. It turns to a black color which actually looks ok. GrandinRoad assured me the mailbox would return to it's copper 'glory' by using a copper cleaner.....we'll have to see. Would buy again..... :0)
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mail post and mailbox combo Love the whole package . Looks fantastic and have recieved many compliments. My only negative is the mailbox did not come with hardware to secure it to the post.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NICE! Dispelling some bad reviews with advice... The copper mailbox is gorgeous and well made. The brass pieces are sturdy. However, on my unit (bought 3 years ago) the spring clip at the top of the door, that holds it closed, was too tight. Fighting this clip put undue stress on the hinge. I loosened the spring clip with a screw driver - just bent it down a bit so easier to open and close. My door has had no problems at all. Also, the copper finish is as beautiful today as when I bought it. This is bare copper and WILL patina, almost immediately. Duh!! I sprayed mine with several coats of Incralac clear coat (specifically made for copper and brass). It truly is perfect, still today. If you like the shiny copper look (I do), you MUST clearcoat it with Incralac (google it). As for the post - it is plastic, for lack of better word, and okay quality. Sturdy enough, but definitely subject to some some fit and finish issues out of the box. But it went together fine, and has held up very well; my black post has not faded or warped. Overall I'm very pleased with this product, and have returned to Grandin road to buy another, since I'm moving next month and am not taking my beautiful mailbox with me - i need a new one! No hesitation to get this product again.
Date published: 2014-08-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Copper mailbox love this piece. I have it for 4 years but of course the copper has weathered and now the mailbox door flap has broke off. Please aware
Date published: 2011-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper holder Very pretty but very difficult to assemble. Nothing measures up so you will need to manipulate the pieces to assemble. A talented handman or handywoman should be required. lol. Please note the copper maibox is actually copper and not copper-colored steel. Nice! We will eventually enjoy it but after taking all day to assemblewe are not enjoying it so much right now. Cheers!
Date published: 2012-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Missing Hardware There was no hardware nor instructions to mount the copper mailbox to the plastic pole. There are four holes in the bottom of the mailbox and four grooves in the plastic pole. We have no clue how to secure the mailbox to the pole.
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Buyer Beware This is such a beautiful mailbox but please beware before you buy. The door constantly falls open on the copper mailbox. If the wind is blowing the door is usually open. We also purchased the address plates and the black paint is peeling off of them. It looks terrible. There is apparently only a year warranty so Grandin Road will not replace.
Date published: 2015-04-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Door Fell Off! The door fell off the mailbox after about one year of installation. It appears the weld between the door and bracket hinge was faulty. I've read several similar reviews. Will GrandinRoad send us a new mailbox? How have other customers dealt with this imperfection?
Date published: 2013-06-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty but breaks easily We have tried (2) of these mailboxes. They are very pretty in the Copper but the weld at the bottom of the door near the hinge has broken on both of them. After it breaks and you try to open the door it bends ..then wont close because the copper is soft and now bent. Next the inside clasp broke off so I drilled and added screws. Now the handle is loose. It is a shame, as I'm now looking for a similar look but without that bottom door frame where they weld it. I'm thinking a one piece door will work better. If you buy it, assume it will break so be prepared.
Date published: 2014-02-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Evaluate this product before purchasing Installing this product was fair from easy. The no-dig mounting post holder screwed into the ground fairly easily, but you better hope that you don't hit any rocks or other hard underground objects! It is almost impossible to ensure that the unit is perfectly aligned. Attaching the 4 x 4 post to the base requires two people. One to hold the post and the other to install the 5 bolts. The easiest part of the installation was slipping the plastic post over the 4 x 4. Connecting the arm (which holds the mail box) to the post was also a feat since the bolts and screws did not easily fit through the plastic cap covers and also hindered the tightening. Again two people are needed for this procedure. The assembly instructions could be much clearer and include better drawings of the various steps and what the final result should look like. But here comes the real problem: if you don't order the mailbox WITH the post, you will find an enclosed flyer for ordering a mailbox from another company. This company will ship you a mailbox but not the needed hardware for attaching to the post unless you call them back and complain. The mailbox company's customer service dept. will then explain that their mailboxes are designed to be installed on THEIR posts! While you are waiting for the added fasteners to arrive, be prepared for the Post Office to put a hold your mail. Why was this company's flyer even included in Grandinroad's post package? And without any instructions for attaching the mailbox to the arm. Total time spent in installation: 3+ hours.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great looking, poor construction I made the decision to buy a second mailbox after my first one failed me after a few years. I couldn't find a comparable product cheaper or as nice. They are very expensive so it wasn't an easy decision. Like many other customers, my door fell off (first becomes cracked at the edges and then completely breaks off). They need to redesign the bottom of the door to reinforce the copper. The mailbox is great, but the poor construction and eventual limited life makes the quality of the product for the end user low. Even though I have purchased two, I would not recommend.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great looking but poor quality Nice looking mailbox and it was easy to put up. We've had it up for a year now and just noted the hinge pin on the left side of the mailbox is broken. Was hoping it would have held up longer for the price.
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mailbox issues I've had the mailbox set for several years now and my door just broke off of the mail box. I love the set as it really adds curb appeal, and was going to order a new mailbox. ( I thought the mailman broke the door off) after reading all the reviews on this mailbox I will pass and get one somewhere else
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not last three years???? First, I want to say I love this mailbox!!! But, I just noticed after three years the mail box door has ripped on both sides near the bottom and started to seperate from the hinges. I would not even know how to fix it. So, I cannot recomend this product due to durability issues. We bought this becasue we thought it was beautiful and would last atleast 10 years. I guess not.
Date published: 2011-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the money Love the look as it matches copper accents on my house, but had first mailbox a few years and door came apart. Purchased a second one in hopes it was just a fluke but it started coming apart in less than a year. Wish I head read reviews before buying.
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not best quality I purchased the mailbox and post a year ago and it has great curb appeal however the quality of the mailbox is not good. The brass that wraps the door and brass edges of the mailbox hit each other when the door it open which will eventually crack the copper door and the hindge will break causing the mailbox to be useless as there is not fix. It is a very poor design and I will be taking it up with customer service to see what can be done. Even if it is replaced the same issue will happen in time as indicated in some other reveiws.
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big Price - low quality We purchased the copper mailbox to accompany the faux stone mailbox post - about 2 years ago. The latch broke first. Then the door broke away from the body of the box. Terrible quality for the price. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Copper Mailbox Quality The copper mailbox was purchased and installed less than 2 years ago. About 6 months ago I noticed that the brass frame around the door was broken and the door was slightly bent, as with many other reviewers I thought that the mailman had done this. I am extremely disappointed with the quality and construction of this product, especially at a cost of more than 5 times that of a steel mailbox. We liked the look of the mailbox and post when we first got it but that didn't last long, the copper quickly changed to a black color and the mailbox needs to be constantly cleaned with a copper cleaner to keep the look that was advertised. We will not buy another!
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not durable We bought this entire mailbox/post/sign/planter 5 years ago, and everything has held up except the copper mailbox. Like other reviewers have said, the door has separated from the hinge and is now dangling by a thread. I would expect this to last a lifetime for the cost - buyer definitely beware!
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor product Your copper mailbox is terrible....after two years the door falls off and the lower part breaks apart...metal is too thin to support such heavy door. As a loyal customer I am very surprised you would continue to offer this product after so many poor reviews.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from One of the flimsiest products I've ever bought The problem with this product is NOT the Mailbox, which is indeed beautiful, well made, solid, all of the above. The problem is with the accompanying assembly, which is one of the most shoddily made products I've ever put together. The plastic is warped; the pre-drilled holes are the wrong size; the center column's spacing at the bottom allows it to wiggle easily around the center 4x4. The warped nature of the plastic means that the pieces do not fit together properly without gapping. Even replacing the worst-warped piece we received with our order didn't make things better. Several screws and washers were missing, and in the assembly process, I ended up having to use all three of my drill sets because of the varying sizes of bolts and screws. The mounting mechanism to attach the mailbox to the newspaper holder amounts to nothing more than putting woodscrews into plastic. And the screws they DO send along with the custom numbers will pierce right through the sides of the holder -- hello, ripped newspaper every morning. The quality in the design and assembly was just completely absent. As pretty as the mailbox is, and as pretty as the assembly is if you're standing at a distance, it is flimsy and warped, unsteady and ill-designed, and it is just not what one expects at this price point. Buy the mailbox: skip the rest.
Date published: 2011-05-13
  • y_2017, m_9, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_44
  • loc_, sid_26697, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grandinroad

Can this post stand alone on cement or patio? Or does it have to be installed in ground?

Asked by: Jim
The post itself is simply a vinyl sleeve which slides over a 4x4 wooden post, so if you can anchor a 4x4 in a pot of concrete or something similar then you could use this above-ground, but it might be tipsy.
Answered by: steved
Date published: 2015-11-01

can you substitute the copper mailbox with a locking mailbox?

Asked by: slywbt
I would think you could put any mailbox on the post, as long as it fit.
Answered by: steved
Date published: 2015-11-01

Has quality improved?

Had this in my cart to purchase but after reading reviews about the quality of the mailbox I am now reconsidering. After hearing from customers about the problems they have experienced, have improvements been made on the mailbox? Thanks
Asked by: Anonymous
Thank you for your interest in the Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper Holder. Our primary focus is quality, and any known quality issues have been addressed.
Answered by: JLGrandinroadService
Date published: 2016-04-19

Can I attach the flower box to the mail post with newspaper holder?

I would like the post, flower box and newspaper holder, but not the mailbox. I don't see that as an option. I would like to know how to get the combination I want.
Asked by: Anonymous
Thank you for your interest in the Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper Holder. To get the post, flower box and newspaper holder without the mailbox, you will need to order both the Signature Plus Mail Post with Newspaper Holder (26957) and the Signature Plus Flower Box (32118).
Answered by: JLGrandinroadService
Date published: 2016-10-20

What are the dimentions of the flowerbox, H, W, and D of the base and the top? Also, how is it attached to the post?

..
Asked by: Anonymous
Thank you for your interest in the Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper Holder. The Internal size of the flowerbox is 15"l x 8"w x 7.5" deep and it bolts to the post.
Answered by: MZGrandinroadService
Date published: 2013-10-21
  • y_2017, m_9, d_21, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_, sid_26697, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_grandinroad
Product:26697-Post, Mailbox, Flower Box, and Newspaper Holder

Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper Holder

Copper Mailbox

Set of Two Signature Plus Post Plaques

Signature Plus Mail Post with Newspaper Holder

Signature Plus Flower Box

Solar-powered Mail Post Light

No-dig Mounting System

Grandin Road Credit Card
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]