Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  11 6 9 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /GrandinRoad/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper Holder 2.9 5 36 37
Instant Upgrade We ordered the full mail post combo in black with the copper mailbox and finally got around to installing it 5 months later and wow am I glad we did! Fairly easy to install and got it perfectly level on the first try (recommend two people). The copper box is just beautiful and the whole set has a very substantial look and love that it's maintenance free. September 7, 2014
Finally! A New Mailbox! Our old mailbox and newspaper box were showing their age, and I had been looking for replacements that were a "cut above" boxes on a post. After searching the Internet, as well as home improvement stores, I ordered this post and newspaper holder. The price was certainly more than I wanted to pay, so I'm hoping we won't have to replace it any time soon! Pros: It looks great and my husband said it was easy to assemble and install (we ordered the "no-dig" kit.) Cons: Obviously, the price; and I had a hard time finding a mailbox that would fit. I didn't want the copper box shown in the the catalog, and the only box that I halfway liked had a silver flag and handle, which I didn't want since I had also ordered the decorative plaque for the house number in black/gold. We ended up buying that one and painting the flag and the handle. February 23, 2015
Mailbox review I installed the black post and copper mailbox. It has great curb appeal. My wife loves it! I read the other reviews and agree that some of the plastic parts are lower quality than what I have come to expect from Grandinroad. The plastic, flower box was a little warped, but I was able to make it work. All in all, we are very happy with it. September 5, 2011
Love it! This mailbox 'set' is great! It really dressed up the house even from the cub. Only draw back: copper mailbox will discolor within days. It turns to a black color which actually looks ok. GrandinRoad assured me the mailbox would return to it's copper 'glory' by using a copper cleaner.....we'll have to see. Would buy again..... :0) November 23, 2011
NICE! Dispelling some bad reviews with advice... The copper mailbox is gorgeous and well made. The brass pieces are sturdy. However, on my unit (bought 3 years ago) the spring clip at the top of the door, that holds it closed, was too tight. Fighting this clip put undue stress on the hinge. I loosened the spring clip with a screw driver - just bent it down a bit so easier to open and close. My door has had no problems at all. Also, the copper finish is as beautiful today as when I bought it. This is bare copper and WILL patina, almost immediately. Duh!! I sprayed mine with several coats of Incralac clear coat (specifically made for copper and brass). It truly is perfect, still today. If you like the shiny copper look (I do), you MUST clearcoat it with Incralac (google it). As for the post - it is plastic, for lack of better word, and okay quality. Sturdy enough, but definitely subject to some some fit and finish issues out of the box. But it went together fine, and has held up very well; my black post has not faded or warped. Overall I'm very pleased with this product, and have returned to Grandin road to buy another, since I'm moving next month and am not taking my beautiful mailbox with me - i need a new one! No hesitation to get this product again. August 23, 2014
Order is a dis-appointment We did not want the flower box so we thought we would save money by buying the items separately, imagine our surprise when we paid more without the flower box. The box and post are very attractive and we are pleased with their look & quality One thing we are not pleased with is your not furnishing mounting hardware with the box and not listing it as such. VERY cheap. April 6, 2015
Copper mailbox love this piece. I have it for 4 years but of course the copper has weathered and now the mailbox door flap has broke off. Please aware August 14, 2011
Post, Mailbox, Flower Box and Newspaper holder Very pretty but very difficult to assemble. Nothing measures up so you will need to manipulate the pieces to assemble. A talented handman or handywoman should be required. lol. Please note the copper maibox is actually copper and not copper-colored steel. Nice! We will eventually enjoy it but after taking all day to assemblewe are not enjoying it so much right now. Cheers! May 4, 2012
Missing Hardware There was no hardware nor instructions to mount the copper mailbox to the plastic pole. There are four holes in the bottom of the mailbox and four grooves in the plastic pole. We have no clue how to secure the mailbox to the pole. May 17, 2015
Did not last three years???? First, I want to say I love this mailbox!!! But, I just noticed after three years the mail box door has ripped on both sides near the bottom and started to seperate from the hinges. I would not even know how to fix it. So, I cannot recomend this product due to durability issues. We bought this becasue we thought it was beautiful and would last atleast 10 years. I guess not. August 8, 2011
Great looking but poor quality Nice looking mailbox and it was easy to put up. We've had it up for a year now and just noted the hinge pin on the left side of the mailbox is broken. Was hoping it would have held up longer for the price. January 18, 2012
Mailbox issues I've had the mailbox set for several years now and my door just broke off of the mail box. I love the set as it really adds curb appeal, and was going to order a new mailbox. ( I thought the mailman broke the door off) after reading all the reviews on this mailbox I will pass and get one somewhere else April 22, 2012
Great looking, poor construction I made the decision to buy a second mailbox after my first one failed me after a few years. I couldn't find a comparable product cheaper or as nice. They are very expensive so it wasn't an easy decision. Like many other customers, my door fell off (first becomes cracked at the edges and then completely breaks off). They need to redesign the bottom of the door to reinforce the copper. The mailbox is great, but the poor construction and eventual limited life makes the quality of the product for the end user low. Even though I have purchased two, I would not recommend. July 10, 2012
Evaluate this product before purchasing Installing this product was fair from easy. The no-dig mounting post holder screwed into the ground fairly easily, but you better hope that you don't hit any rocks or other hard underground objects! It is almost impossible to ensure that the unit is perfectly aligned. Attaching the 4 x 4 post to the base requires two people. One to hold the post and the other to install the 5 bolts. The easiest part of the installation was slipping the plastic post over the 4 x 4. Connecting the arm (which holds the mail box) to the post was also a feat since the bolts and screws did not easily fit through the plastic cap covers and also hindered the tightening. Again two people are needed for this procedure. The assembly instructions could be much clearer and include better drawings of the various steps and what the final result should look like. But here comes the real problem: if you don't order the mailbox WITH the post, you will find an enclosed flyer for ordering a mailbox from another company. This company will ship you a mailbox but not the needed hardware for attaching to the post unless you call them back and complain. The mailbox company's customer service dept. will then explain that their mailboxes are designed to be installed on THEIR posts! While you are waiting for the added fasteners to arrive, be prepared for the Post Office to put a hold your mail. Why was this company's flyer even included in Grandinroad's post package? And without any instructions for attaching the mailbox to the arm. Total time spent in installation: 3+ hours. April 8, 2013
Door Fell Off! The door fell off the mailbox after about one year of installation. It appears the weld between the door and bracket hinge was faulty. I've read several similar reviews. Will GrandinRoad send us a new mailbox? How have other customers dealt with this imperfection? June 29, 2013
Pretty but breaks easily We have tried (2) of these mailboxes. They are very pretty in the Copper but the weld at the bottom of the door near the hinge has broken on both of them. After it breaks and you try to open the door it bends ..then wont close because the copper is soft and now bent. Next the inside clasp broke off so I drilled and added screws. Now the handle is loose. It is a shame, as I'm now looking for a similar look but without that bottom door frame where they weld it. I'm thinking a one piece door will work better. If you buy it, assume it will break so be prepared. February 24, 2014
Buyer Beware This is such a beautiful mailbox but please beware before you buy. The door constantly falls open on the copper mailbox. If the wind is blowing the door is usually open. We also purchased the address plates and the black paint is peeling off of them. It looks terrible. There is apparently only a year warranty so Grandin Road will not replace. April 22, 2015
One of the flimsiest products I've ever bought The problem with this product is NOT the Mailbox, which is indeed beautiful, well made, solid, all of the above. The problem is with the accompanying assembly, which is one of the most shoddily made products I've ever put together. The plastic is warped; the pre-drilled holes are the wrong size; the center column's spacing at the bottom allows it to wiggle easily around the center 4x4. The warped nature of the plastic means that the pieces do not fit together properly without gapping. Even replacing the worst-warped piece we received with our order didn't make things better. Several screws and washers were missing, and in the assembly process, I ended up having to use all three of my drill sets because of the varying sizes of bolts and screws. The mounting mechanism to attach the mailbox to the newspaper holder amounts to nothing more than putting woodscrews into plastic. And the screws they DO send along with the custom numbers will pierce right through the sides of the holder -- hello, ripped newspaper every morning. The quality in the design and assembly was just completely absent. As pretty as the mailbox is, and as pretty as the assembly is if you're standing at a distance, it is flimsy and warped, unsteady and ill-designed, and it is just not what one expects at this price point. Buy the mailbox: skip the rest. May 13, 2011
not best quality I purchased the mailbox and post a year ago and it has great curb appeal however the quality of the mailbox is not good. The brass that wraps the door and brass edges of the mailbox hit each other when the door it open which will eventually crack the copper door and the hindge will break causing the mailbox to be useless as there is not fix. It is a very poor design and I will be taking it up with customer service to see what can be done. Even if it is replaced the same issue will happen in time as indicated in some other reveiws. November 18, 2011
Very poor quality Purchased this product a year ago and we are very disappointed with the quality of the post. It is now bending over in the center from the weight of the copper mailbox. The plastic is turning from a white to a pitted black/white. December 24, 2011
Buyer beware, door will break We have had this mailbox for several years. The box looks great, but as described in many of the other reviews, the door design is poor and now has broken off and is unrepairable. Not the quality expected for this price, and surprised continue to sell given the problem. January 22, 2012
Dont buy This was my dream mailbox for our new home we purchased in 2008 Beautiful and wonderful comments but the door on the mail box cracked all the way across up above the hinge and broke off This mailbox was well taken care of Too expensive to break for no reason October 16, 2012
Copper Mailbox This is the second Copper Mailbox (with post and newspaper holder & numbers) we have ordered. The first one was purchased for our former home in New Jersey and now this recent one in Florida. In both instances the copper does not stay for longer than two weeks. The brilliant copper color faded to brown within two weeks of being put in place. The NJ mailbox was purchased and installed in 2008 and faded immediately and just kept turning darker brown over the years until our move this year. This is truly an inferior product. It looks great in your pictures and when you install it, but has a very short life of looking nice. October 25, 2012
Please don't waste your money for beauty! I bought this mailbox because I absolutely loved the look of it and wanted it for its curb appeal. I had just finished landscaping my yard and thought it would be a beautiful addition. I bought the mailbox and chose to ignore a lot of the reviews about the quality of the mailbox and the door breaking off, thinking "it wouldn't happen to me." Well, it did. It broke right off after about six months. And unless you have a metal worker at home, I believe it is irreparable. Please don't waste your money just because it is beautiful. February 5, 2013
Poor Copper Mailbox Quality The copper mailbox was purchased and installed less than 2 years ago. About 6 months ago I noticed that the brass frame around the door was broken and the door was slightly bent, as with many other reviewers I thought that the mailman had done this. I am extremely disappointed with the quality and construction of this product, especially at a cost of more than 5 times that of a steel mailbox. We liked the look of the mailbox and post when we first got it but that didn't last long, the copper quickly changed to a black color and the mailbox needs to be constantly cleaned with a copper cleaner to keep the look that was advertised. We will not buy another! June 4, 2013
Big Price - low quality We purchased the copper mailbox to accompany the faux stone mailbox post - about 2 years ago. The latch broke first. Then the door broke away from the body of the box. Terrible quality for the price. Very disappointed. October 6, 2013
poor product Your copper mailbox is terrible....after two years the door falls off and the lower part breaks apart...metal is too thin to support such heavy door. As a loyal customer I am very surprised you would continue to offer this product after so many poor reviews. April 26, 2014
Not worth the money Love the look as it matches copper accents on my house, but had first mailbox a few years and door came apart. Purchased a second one in hopes it was just a fluke but it started coming apart in less than a year. Wish I head read reviews before buying. October 24, 2014
  • 2015-07-30T10:31:46.417-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_37, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_26697, prod, sort_default
<<prev2
Product:26934-No-dig Mounting System
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???