Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  11 6 9 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /GrandinRoad/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Set of Three Favorite Lighted Staked Halloween Ghosts 3.5 5 105 109
Cute, but lights are weak The ghost are cute for sure, but the lights only worked for one evening. That was a big disappointment! I would only recommend them if you don't care if they light up at night. November 1, 2011
Not so "lighted" First, the fabric used is very high quality. I kept these outside for the better part of October and they weathered incredibly well! My complaint is that I initially turned the glow lights on when I received them to ensure that they worked. Check. I turned them off and then didn't turn them on again until Halloween night. Alas. I had 2 glowing ghosts and 1 un-glowing ghost. Sad. So, while I initally would have given this a 4-5 star rating - - I was disappointed that the "glow" didn't work for all my ghostly friends. November 4, 2011
Look good These came today and I set them up. They look very effective but not quality. All the flimsy plastic heads were bent from the box and I was able to 'pop' the plastic back out on all 3 of them, but one part of a head. The stakes wouldn't push securely into the head and I was cautious of pushing too hard in case the plastic bent again. Therefore, the heads are not securely on the stick. The material is good quality. I don't think these ghosts can handle being soaked each day by the sprinklers on the grass so I decided to put them inside (in plant pots). One of the ghosts had been glued wrong - the face is all lopsided so I will have to try to re glue it. The other two had the material aligned correctly. The lights won't last long. They should light up the whole ghost. I like the idea someone had of wrapping lights on the stick underneath so the body lights up. Over all pleased but I'm certainly glad I got them on sale and didn't pay full price. September 25, 2012
3 lighted ghosts Bought these thinking they would be a great addition to our graveyard scene in the front. The two layers of fabric are good quality. The rest not so great. I bought two sets for 6 ghosts. 2 of the 3 in each box had bent/crushed heads that needed to be popped back out. 2 of the 6 the flimsy plastic head cracked so now I need to figure out a way to make them water proof. The plastic dome that forms the head is pretty poor quality. Seems more flimsy than 2 liter soda bottles. The stakes do not make a "click" noise as indicated in the directions so we will see how long the heads stay on the stakes if we get any wind. Overall my biggest complaint is the lack of some kind of timer feature. I had not really intented to go out and turn these on and off each night. With all the flameless candles and other outdoor decor that runs off watch batteries and has a timer feature I never considered that these would not. October 2, 2012
Ghosts are like Vampires - Need a Strong Stake The Halloween ghosts look great, especially with the lights and I bought two sets to make a circle of them around your spooky willow tree. The only issue was that the stakes, even when hammered into the ground, become loose with some wind, so the ghosts frequently topple over and one stake broke. Is there a way to strengthen the stakes or some tips on installing the ghosts to help them stay up better? October 24, 2012
less sturdy than i expected The base construction of these ghosts is a lot flimsier than I expected for the price. Every time I turn it on, I feel like it's going to come apart. The stake is very strong and the fabric is nice, but underneath is a plastic with a cardboard base that moves every time I turn it on and off September 25, 2013
Still needs improvement I have the original version of your 3 ghosts and they were cute for awhile but started to fall apart after a few (maybe 2) years. When I saw that you had updated them with the faces and glowing heads I knew it was time to bite the bullet and replace the old with the new. The new ones are much better...however, It surprises me that they overlooked one important thing...The lights! There is only an on / off switch- they should have put them on a timer so they aren't on all day long. Now a days you can find seasonal decor that has a timer switch that has an on for so many hrs and off for so many hrs. I hope they are able to add that to their next version! I love that it uses batteries instead of a plug, but I don't want them on all day long. October 17, 2013
Nice but needs improvement They are cute and look great during the day. The fabric and stakes are good quality but the plastic in the head is too flimsy and you have to handle with care. I took them inside when rain was expected and don't think they would hold up in a wind. At night they are hard to see because the light in the head needs to be brighter and if you shine a light on them you totally loose the dim glow in the head. A little bit of a hassle if you don't want to waste the batteries during the day having to go out and raise the fabric to get to the switch to turn off and on. I did purchase them at a discount and glad I did, the full price is a little much for what you get unless improvements are made. November 7, 2013
disappointed The ghosts looked so cute in the catalog, and actually were bigger than I thought they would be, but they were so flimsy for outside use. I am returning one set because the "heads" were caved in and one had only 2 good lights. I will try the other set, but will probably bring them inside every night and in windy weather. October 10, 2011
Cute, but Batteries Don't Last These ghosts are cute and it rained the first day we had them up and the fabric seems to be withstanding the elements. I downgraded this though because the lights lasted one night and are now burnt out. I find this a bit ridiculous, unfortunately given how cute they are. Plus, I bought two sets! October 10, 2011
Major Disappointment We bought 2 sets of the three lighted staked halloween ghosts. They are a major disappointment. The "lights" are basically worthless. Even in the pitch black night you cannot tell they are on. The stakes are very flimsy and I can't imagine them lasting more than a season or two. On a positive note, the "ghost" material itself is quite nice. Its just a shame the lights aren't brighter and that the stakes aren't more stable. Additionally, the plastic "head" of the ghosts have already cracked in several places and they are barely two weeks old. I would definitely not purchase them again. October 11, 2011
So Cute & So Disappointing As a reviewer below, I waited for 2 years for these ghosts and ordered early to ensure I got them this year. They arrive packaged well and the fabric is a good quality heavy satin underneath with a more gauzy overlay -- very lush material. No directions come and there are little rods in the box that I couldn't figure out so after a call to Grandinroad -- turns out they are just cross rods you put in the bottom of the stake to help support it. Take care when pounding the stakes because even with a rubber mallet, we bent the top a little and then it's difficult to get the head on. The lights are so dim that you can't even see them at night; which was the most disappointing of all. I guess I could have lived with the unlit ghosts because they are so cute, but in wind and rain, these poor things just kept falling over because we couldn't get them deep enough into the ground. Sadly, I ended up returning them and Grandinroad was most gracious considering I had them for almost 3 weeks. October 21, 2011
Cute but flimsy These are cute, and the fabric is nice and more weather resistant than expected. However, the body of the ghosts is made of incredibly flimsy plastic (lmore flimsy than a Coke bottle) that is fragile and quite cheap. Also, the ghosts come with absolutely no instructions, and I still have some mystery parts that have no apparent purpose. Overall a disappointing purchase from a value perspective. October 22, 2011
Halloween Ghosts These were not what I expected. The batteries don't last, and I wish they lit up as one color instead of changing colors. I wish that had just plain white lights illuminating the entire thing instead of just the head. Not impressed given the price. October 25, 2012
Looks good but underneath ...just OK The stakes are not that durable, if the ground isn't very soft you will have a hard time with the install. Don't even think about using a hammer with the stakes they are made of a very soft aluminum. Battery life is also an issue.... the lights really fade after the third, fourth night even with moderate use of 4hrs per night. October 26, 2012
Ghostly difficulties The ghosts looked great on a stand in the garage, but trying to finish putting them together was a problem. The stakes never did "click" into the heads, so they were inclined to fall off repeatedly. Staking them into the ground wasn't difficult, due to the angled end of the stake, but seasonal winds here in Arkansas meant the "sheets" fluttered every which a way, and distorted the effect of the face. Lights worked fine, but overall the ghosts needed too much attention so am returning them for credit. October 27, 2012
3 ghost review These are ok, but not sure I'd get them again. The batteries run down quickly and are a bit of a pain to replace - small screwdriver needed and a small trick getting the 3 tiny batteries installed. The white cloths are very poorly attached. The heads just sit on the post and are easily blown off, think duct tape. And last the lights only light up the head, would love to see it not have the cheap cardboard base on the bottom of the head, but instead a plastic base so that the light shines down a bit. November 1, 2012
Disappointed I felt that the ghosts were not well made. I could not get any of the three "heads" to "click" to lock them onto the posts. It was difficult to turn the lights on and off due to where the switches were placed. Also, the three ghosts had totally different on/off switches so they weren't in the same place on each ghost. Would have returned them if they weren't so darn big. October 16, 2013
Meh... these are really cute. and the kids LOVED them. they made it through the first Halloween with only a few reassemblies. then i had to nurse them through the second Halloween and throw them away after that. they're very expensive to barely last two years. but they are VERY cute and every child in the neighborhood came by to visit them. and if i could get them at half the price i might buy another set. October 18, 2013
Cute but poor quality So so cute but should have heeded the other reviews. The structure of these ghosts is plastic on cardboard. No way they could be expected to survive wind and rain outside. The head of one ripped off within days. Cardboard for an outside decoration? This catalog has so many cute things but now I wonder about their overall quality. October 30, 2013
Just okay They were cute, but they didn't say assembled very well. The posts didn't click and lock into place which made it a little difficult to push the stakes into the ground withourt the head falling off. The cross bar also bent the metal on one of the ground stakes, so that one was really hard to get into the ground. The plastic on the head dented very easily, so the ghosts heads ended up with dents. November 10, 2013
not durable i bought these ghosts because I though they were adorable. However, the stakes you put into the ground to hold them up bent, making it hard for them to stay upright. In addition, the fabric didn't stay on the ghosts head, falling over and exposing the plastic underneath. November 11, 2013
Didn't perform that well Glad I didn't pay full price for this set of ghosts. Although it added to our Haunted House feature, the one ghost didn't light up and another ghost had a broken stake. Ended up having to hang them in a different way than how the product was originally designed. October 24, 2014
Ghosts finally in trash!! I love grandin road products. But I have had it with these ghosts. Do not buy them. First of all the cloth is super glued to to the heads of the ghosts and I have had to glue the cloth back on the heads over and over again. And if you have a wIndy front yard the cloth blows over the heads and you constantly have to drape the cloth over the heads. And it is impossible to get the steaks into the ground. I had my landscapers put them in the ground this year and they still fall over. And stink bugs love to make a home in the cloth. I was so irritated by them....I threw them in the trash last night!!! October 10, 2011
Disappointed I put these up and their heads were lit. It looked nice. The second day, they lit up faintly and after that they didn't light up anymore. My grandchildren were very disappointed and so was I. Their heads are made of very thin plastic and they dent. The ghosts material was nice and thick. October 13, 2011
Waste of $ and Anticipation Huge Disappointment. The ghosts looked so cute out of the box but were impossible to install due to poorly designed stakes. The battery operation of the lighting or glowing feature worked for about 5 seconds on one ghost and never worked on the other 2. I could have made these better myself. October 21, 2011
Staked Halloween Ghosts The ghosts did not hold up well. They kept falling off the stakes and the lights did not show up very well at night. I would not recommend these. November 2, 2011
Wait until they improve them to buy them I bought these last month and they arrived quickly. Upon opening I thought they looked a bit flimsy in terms of their construction, but they looked nice and decided to give them the benefit of the doubt. I installed them this evening and quickly found that my first impression was correct. A couple screws, a small sheet of corrugated plastic and some very flimsy plastic domes all come together to give you very nice looking JUNK. They don't hold up to a slight breeze. I can't imagine what will happen if we get wind. Over all, I'm growing a bit disappointed in the quality of the merchandise from Grandin Road but this is clearly the worst! All they need to do is improve the quality and construction and they'd have a great product. My neighbor thought they looked great and asked where I found them. I told her and then showed her what they looked like underneath and the price. She said "oh, never mind. Those look like they'll only make it to the first week of October." September 19, 2012
Flimsy I've had these ghosts up for almost 2 weeks now, and I've had to go outside and re stake them at least once a day. While the fabric is durable, the rest of the product is not. If you pull the stake to the top position, they are too top heavy and the slightest wind blows them over. If you push the bar down to the lowest level, the fabric pools to much at the bottom and the ghost look too short. The two layers of material are attached to the top of the plastic head by a thin spot of glue. The wind blew the fabric off the of the plastic heads within the first week. Now if there 's any strong wind, the white fabric gets blown all over my yard. I've pushed the metal stakes at least 4 inches into the ground, if not more, and they still topple over in the slightest wind. October 12, 2012
Frustrating I like the look and they seem to endure weather OK but I agree with another post - the batteries are not lasting at all and I can't keep them standing in the ground. The cross-bar that is supposed to give you leverage to get them into the ground is too flimsy to get them in the ground properly and they keep falling over. This plus the fact there are not lit because the batteries keep going out, I could have used home materials and ended up with something just as good as these. I would not buy again and in fact have considered asking for a refund. October 24, 2012
  • 2015-07-31T08:56:00.955-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_109, tr_109
  • loc_en_US, sid_41340, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
(2 Questions : 18 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The colors rotate between red blue and green. they automatically come on and continuously rotate. Note- they are not bright enough to light up the entire ghost sheet, its more a subtle effect around the head. I like this because they dont look cartoonish. there is also an option to keep the lights off.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Miami Beach, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cjones is loaded.
Additional information about Cjones could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The head has 3 disc batteries that you must switch "on" and then lights change continuously in shades of red, purple, blue, green. The outer layer of fabric has a sheen and the changing colors look very nice through it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
PA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Flyfisherlady is loaded.
Additional information about Flyfisherlady could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They change from one to another, BLUE, GREEN TO RED.
You can turn them on and off as you choose.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GINAD is loaded.
Additional information about GINAD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The colors are hughes of blue, purple and a yellowish orange.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 1SavvyShopper is loaded.
Additional information about 1SavvyShopper could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The lights rotate from red, to blue to green. They are very subtle.

I didn't find them to be enough light, so I put a solar powdered light (mounted on a stake) under the skirt of several of the ghosts. The uplighting under the skirt which made them even more adorable.

I found turning the lights (in the head of each ghosts) on and off cumbersome, so I just left the lights on.

Extra batteries come with the ghosts and additional ones can be purchased. The batteries are common hearing aid batteries.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lubking is loaded.
Additional information about Lubking could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
You have to turn them on. Rotaing colors, mainly blue, green and red.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about RGPT is loaded.
Additional information about RGPT could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They change from blue, green, red, purple, I think. Plain white would have been better.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about nori is loaded.
Additional information about nori could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Each of the ghosts has three tiny LED bulbs inside the head. They gradually cycle from blue to purple, but there are stages of blue, blue-green, pink, and purple. Each ghost has the same colors, but not necessarily at the same time. The lights do not come on automatically. There is a switch on the underside of the head to turn the lights on.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
User submitted photo
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
VA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MacFamily is loaded.
Additional information about MacFamily could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The LED light in each ghost head changes from red/green/blue. There is an on/off switch on the base of the head.
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Colorado, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about la4evershed is loaded.
Additional information about la4evershed could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If I remember correctly, the lights are LED red, blue, and green. I've already packed mine away. There is a switch under the head to turn the lights on and off. They do not come on automatically.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about paintslinger69 is loaded.
Additional information about paintslinger69 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The lights have a little switch the lights are LED they change color. I can't tell you exact color but I did see some blue.they are not very bright. I am going for a scary decor so they don't need to be bright for me . I did read some people added there own lights. Some of the review help me!
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sindy is loaded.
Additional information about Sindy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Yes you can. Problem is, you will be doing a lot since the batteries only last 4 hours per evening. Gets expensive buying the batteries!
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Buford, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Whitelighter38 is loaded.
Additional information about Whitelighter38 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, you can replace the batteries. Extra batteries come with the ghosts, and you can purchase more as needed. I think the batteries are common hearing aid batteries.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lubking is loaded.
Additional information about Lubking could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
they come with a package of nine extra batteries plus one already in the ghost head.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about gbird is loaded.
Additional information about gbird could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They are standard LR44 batteries. My grocery store sells them. You might have to look around to find a bulk pack of enough LR44 cells to resupply 3 ghosts. Any electronics supply store will have them; most larger drugstores and grocery stores have them.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PurpleSwede is loaded.
Additional information about PurpleSwede could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
ghosts already come with batteries installed. And they come with additional 9 batteries.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Pebb is loaded.
Additional information about Pebb could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
My batteries worked for about 2.5 nights. 2 sets of extra batteries come with the ghosts and more batteries should be cheap to replace at the local hardware or pharmacy.
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Colorado, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about la4evershed is loaded.
Additional information about la4evershed could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The answer is yes, LR44 batteries, available in many hardware and other stores, and somewhat cheaper online. But as pointed out, they only last 3-4 hours and are relatively expensive. I got tired of replacing them so I bought a 4-AA battery pack and replaced the battery container that comes with the ghosts. Now they run for many nights on standard AA's. Replacing it was easy; bear in mind I'm no electrical guru, just an average Joe. Remove the base from the plastic dome to expose the internals, then unscrew the cardboard base from the light/electrical unit. The existing battery pack easily snaps off. Use a very small standard screwdriver to remove the battery terminals from the battery pack and the wires are easily exposed. The red wire is very short so I threaded the wires back through the cardboard base to get a little extra working length. The wires are extremely thin - thinner than a 20-22 gauge wire cutter - so just gently pinch off about 1/2 inch of wire coating to expose a bit more metal wire. I just twisted the exposed wires to the wires on the battery pack and double-wrapped with electrical tape. I attached the battery pack to the bottom with a hot glue gun. Reassemble and enjoy.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PAlterBoy is loaded.
Additional information about PAlterBoy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
  • 2015-07-31T08:58:41.787-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_41340, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • 2015-07-31T08:58:41.791-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_41340, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
Product:41340-Set of Three Favorite Lighted Staked Halloween Ghosts
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???