Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  11 6 9 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /GrandinRoad/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Set of Three Favorite Lighted Staked Halloween Ghosts 3.5 5 105 109
3 ghost review These are ok, but not sure I'd get them again. The batteries run down quickly and are a bit of a pain to replace - small screwdriver needed and a small trick getting the 3 tiny batteries installed. The white cloths are very poorly attached. The heads just sit on the post and are easily blown off, think duct tape. And last the lights only light up the head, would love to see it not have the cheap cardboard base on the bottom of the head, but instead a plastic base so that the light shines down a bit. November 1, 2012
Stakes too short I bought 2 sets of these ghosts 10/2/2014. The stakes were 35" long giving plenty of room to put stakes in dirt and the ghost stand up about 35" (including head) off ground. Looked great. Ordered another set this year. STAKES ONLY 28" long. By the time you put the stake in the ground 3-4", the ghost barely stand off the ground. Looks like midget ghosts. The fabric just puddles in the dirt. Looks terrible. SIX Inches was a critical cut in manufacturing! Shameful. October 23, 2014
Love these Ghosts I purchased a set of these ghosts last year for Halloween to add to my graveyard. I was pleasantly surprised at how well they were made. I did not expect the fabric covering to be so elegant. I almost did not want to put them outside. I received many compliments on them and am now searching for more items from Grandin Road to add to the graveyard. August 28, 2011
Cute, but flimsy We were so excited when we opened the box. The ghosts look very good - not too scary for little children. The problems started with assembly. The directions say the stake will "click" onto the head. The ghost head rests on the stake, but does not click in. They fall off easily when trying to get the stakes into the ground. Also, the stakes were so difficult to get into the ground - two out of three were damaged. It had just recently rained, so I expected the stakes to go in easily. We damaged the first stake just getting it in the ground far enough that it would stand up. The second stake will not stay extended. I should send them back, but I wanted to keep them up for the kids. I thought I would buy another set when I got them out of the box, but I would not recommend buying them. October 30, 2013
Picture looks better than product I was disappointed - cost versus what I got. They look much nicer in the picture, than in person. The stakes are hard to put in the ground, they keep collapsing. The skirt of the ghosts don't stay spread out, especially in the wind. I am not sure they will make it a second year - if they are out in the rain. October 5, 2011
Lots of Fun The Lighted Staked Halloween Ghosts are a lot of fun. My daughter and her friends enjoy coming up the ghost filled walkway. They do really well in the rain. My only complaint is that the batteries that light them died pretty quickly. No worries though. They are still cute!! October 7, 2011
Great Ghosts on Green Lawn The ghosts look really good on the green lawn during the day. If the light in the head could someway light up the body, they would be perfect. I gave them four stars because of the lights, but am ordering another set...they are cute! September 1, 2011
Super cute... These ghosts are really cute! Our neighbors are just going nuts over them. Suggestion to manufacturer: I was dismayed to see that these are battery-operated, and each requires 3 batteries. I just assumed they would plug in, like all of our other decorations. So instead of conveniently turning on and off with the timer like all of the other (much less expensive) decor, we have to go in and out every evening to turn these on and off. October 7, 2014
Neighbors gave lots of compliments. They look great when they stay in the ground. The neighborhood moms and kids love them. The stake is not pointed enough to hold ghost firmly in ground. The on off switch is small and flimsy and difficult to locate with out taking ghost off pole and looking for it. One of the switches broke on mine, so I need to use a toothpick to flip the switch. Even with these negatives I would recommend the product because they are so cute! October 8, 2014
Didn't perform that well Glad I didn't pay full price for this set of ghosts. Although it added to our Haunted House feature, the one ghost didn't light up and another ghost had a broken stake. Ended up having to hang them in a different way than how the product was originally designed. October 24, 2014
Flimsy I've had these ghosts up for almost 2 weeks now, and I've had to go outside and re stake them at least once a day. While the fabric is durable, the rest of the product is not. If you pull the stake to the top position, they are too top heavy and the slightest wind blows them over. If you push the bar down to the lowest level, the fabric pools to much at the bottom and the ghost look too short. The two layers of material are attached to the top of the plastic head by a thin spot of glue. The wind blew the fabric off the of the plastic heads within the first week. Now if there 's any strong wind, the white fabric gets blown all over my yard. I've pushed the metal stakes at least 4 inches into the ground, if not more, and they still topple over in the slightest wind. October 12, 2012
Nice but needs improvement They are cute and look great during the day. The fabric and stakes are good quality but the plastic in the head is too flimsy and you have to handle with care. I took them inside when rain was expected and don't think they would hold up in a wind. At night they are hard to see because the light in the head needs to be brighter and if you shine a light on them you totally loose the dim glow in the head. A little bit of a hassle if you don't want to waste the batteries during the day having to go out and raise the fabric to get to the switch to turn off and on. I did purchase them at a discount and glad I did, the full price is a little much for what you get unless improvements are made. November 7, 2013
Major Disappointment We bought 2 sets of the three lighted staked halloween ghosts. They are a major disappointment. The "lights" are basically worthless. Even in the pitch black night you cannot tell they are on. The stakes are very flimsy and I can't imagine them lasting more than a season or two. On a positive note, the "ghost" material itself is quite nice. Its just a shame the lights aren't brighter and that the stakes aren't more stable. Additionally, the plastic "head" of the ghosts have already cracked in several places and they are barely two weeks old. I would definitely not purchase them again. October 11, 2011
Very Cute Ghosts My neighbor came over to tell us how cute these were when my husband and I were placing them on the lawn... and they are cute. These run on 3 little batteries each and it is a nuisance to pull up all the material to turn them on and off and then completely remove the head to replace the batteries. It is too bad that I just can't plug them into an outlet! The head is a cheap clear plastic that breaks easily and the material is glued to the top of the head, but the stakes are metal and strong. I love the layered material! Unfortunately, they could be made so much better. October 15, 2012
Frustrating I like the look and they seem to endure weather OK but I agree with another post - the batteries are not lasting at all and I can't keep them standing in the ground. The cross-bar that is supposed to give you leverage to get them into the ground is too flimsy to get them in the ground properly and they keep falling over. This plus the fact there are not lit because the batteries keep going out, I could have used home materials and ended up with something just as good as these. I would not buy again and in fact have considered asking for a refund. October 24, 2012
These Ghost booooo my mind!!! Love them!!! I was very pleased with this purchase. The quality, size & also the fact that they come with a whole pack of many replaceable batteries, not to mention the ones that are already in place. I have 8 acres but only purchased 2 sets. Trust me if I had more $$$, I would fill my whole yard with these. The other day a woman came up to me and asked if I was the lady with the ghosts in yard & where did I find them? I asked if she has ever heard of GRANDINROAD? She said. "I actually get the catalog but never looked at it". HA!!! i bet she will now. October 17, 2012
Not so "lighted" First, the fabric used is very high quality. I kept these outside for the better part of October and they weathered incredibly well! My complaint is that I initially turned the glow lights on when I received them to ensure that they worked. Check. I turned them off and then didn't turn them on again until Halloween night. Alas. I had 2 glowing ghosts and 1 un-glowing ghost. Sad. So, while I initally would have given this a 4-5 star rating - - I was disappointed that the "glow" didn't work for all my ghostly friends. November 4, 2011
I was able to repair their flaws I bought 6 of these (2 sets of 3). Two of them had manufacturing defects (1 had bad wiring, 1 had fabric detached from plastic head). But I like them. They look just right. The two layers of cloth work really well. But the lights were so dim you could hardly see them and the batteries didn't last long enough for a second night. Foo. But I know how to wire things and glue things. I'm not very good at sewing things. And the cloth parts were great. So I made a trip to the local electronics store and bought some 12v LED strips and some wire and connectors and a little12v power supply and the various silicone and rubber sealants and tape needed to make it all waterproof. I put new LEDs into each ghost's head and added an external power connector to each one. I then connected all of them to the power supply and plugged that into the timer that I use to control everything else in the yard. Success. I made a ring of 6 ghosts around a stack of skulls piled on top of an orange llight. It's the centerpiece of my halloween decorations this year. I just bought another box of 3 of these ghosts to use as spares; I think I'm going to want to use these ghosts for many years. The hard part was figuring out how to do this. The actual conversion of each ghost was pretty quick. The hardest part was figuring out how to drill the half-inch hole for the power connector in the corrugated plastic baseplate without shredding it. (Answer: turn the bit by hand and not with a drill). October 28, 2012
Disappointed I bought six of these and they are very cute but do not hold up well. The on off switch is not easy to get to and if you forget to turn them off you can forget using them again without putting in new batteries. The posts need to be improved. The crossbar that is used to put in in the ground bends when trying to get them in the ground. If you pound the stake in the ground, the top will no longer allow the ghost head to fit on top. Save your money and make your own! October 23, 2013
Ghostly difficulties The ghosts looked great on a stand in the garage, but trying to finish putting them together was a problem. The stakes never did "click" into the heads, so they were inclined to fall off repeatedly. Staking them into the ground wasn't difficult, due to the angled end of the stake, but seasonal winds here in Arkansas meant the "sheets" fluttered every which a way, and distorted the effect of the face. Lights worked fine, but overall the ghosts needed too much attention so am returning them for credit. October 27, 2012
Love these! Super nice. I really love these ghosts. I hope to buy more next year. They change colors - but the light is only in the head area - the body doesn't light up. My only downside is that they work only on batteries (the small watch size# rather than use a plug. Hence, I only got them lit for 2 nights #a few hours each night# before the battery died. Grandin Road did supply extra batteries though. I'd give it 5 stars #or more) if it was dual - plug & battery option. October 29, 2013
Delicate and lovely These ghosts are more than cute -- they're actually pretty. The two layers of fabric make each ghost look a bit like a wedding gown. They pick up colored lights well. The aluminum stakes are fairly easy to put in the ground, but if you meet resistance, stop or they'll bend. These are great decorations for short periods of time, but I wouldn't leave them out overnight in areas prone to rain or wind. They served their purpose on Halloween night, so overall, we're pleased. October 31, 2012
Fancy fabric- hope it holds up I just set up my 2 sets of Lighted Staked Halloween Ghosts, and they look great. They are each powered by a separate battery, so I'll be turning each one off individually every night (just wish they were all on a switch or one plug). I hope the beautiful fabric holds up for the month in the rain (we'll see). I dinged this one star as they didn't come with any instructions, which was frustrating (fortunately, I have an engineer husband who figured it all out in no time). October 2, 2011
Cute but a problem I liked these little ghosts very much when I ordered them last year, as they have great satiny and transparent fabric. Their stakes are a little hard to get into the ground, but the real problem is the lights: they require 3 watch-type batteries (very expensive) and the light only last for about one evening. This year, I hit on my own solution: I got some color-changing pumpkin lights (3 AAAs apiece) and taped them to the back of the head of each ghost. Works great! October 23, 2011
Spooks for years to come I purchased these ghosts to decorate my front yard for Halloween. My one year old is not afraid of them and I think these ghosts will be a good choice for years to come. The neighborhood kids did not have to be afraid of our house but it set a great mood. I also had a fog machine that help create a wonderful affect. The LED lights ran out after two days but they send 2 sets of extra batteries to replace the dead ones. Overall, I'm very pleased with the purchase. November 9, 2012
great purchase I was originally going to craft my own ghosts using these as a pattern, but decided a week before Halloween to buy a set. Best decision I made. They are durable and look fantastic. I staked them in large buckets filled with rocks and placed them on the front landing. Yes, the fabric blows about in the breeze but I solved that problem by spreading out the fabric and using other rocks to hold in place. Also used mini-LED tea lights to illuminate the bodies. November 10, 2011
Just okay They were cute, but they didn't say assembled very well. The posts didn't click and lock into place which made it a little difficult to push the stakes into the ground withourt the head falling off. The cross bar also bent the metal on one of the ground stakes, so that one was really hard to get into the ground. The plastic on the head dented very easily, so the ghosts heads ended up with dents. November 10, 2013
Meh... these are really cute. and the kids LOVED them. they made it through the first Halloween with only a few reassemblies. then i had to nurse them through the second Halloween and throw them away after that. they're very expensive to barely last two years. but they are VERY cute and every child in the neighborhood came by to visit them. and if i could get them at half the price i might buy another set. October 18, 2013
Love these guys--need better stakes I purchased three ghosts last year and loved them so much purchased another three this year. They have multi-color LED lights in their heads; I don't really care for that--I'd prefer white. The stakes have a crossbar that bends easily if you use it to drive the stakes into the ground. It's next to impossible not to use the crossbar because there is nothing to hold on to. This is the only reason I didn't rate this product with 5 stars. November 20, 2012
Cute Decorations! The ghosts look great. They have 2 layers of fabric so when the wind blows they look like they are "flying". The stakes are sturdy and easy to put in the soil and remove. They held up in rain and wind with very little damage. The only complaint I have is that the lights are only in the head, run on watch batteries, and burn out very quickly. Instead of replacing batteries, I wound mini-lights around the stand and it looked great. October 28, 2011
  • 2015-05-26T09:50:39.939-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_109, tr_109
  • loc_en_US, sid_41340, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
(2 Questions : 18 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The colors rotate between red blue and green. they automatically come on and continuously rotate. Note- they are not bright enough to light up the entire ghost sheet, its more a subtle effect around the head. I like this because they dont look cartoonish. there is also an option to keep the lights off.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Miami Beach, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cjones is loaded.
Additional information about Cjones could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The head has 3 disc batteries that you must switch "on" and then lights change continuously in shades of red, purple, blue, green. The outer layer of fabric has a sheen and the changing colors look very nice through it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
PA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Flyfisherlady is loaded.
Additional information about Flyfisherlady could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They change from one to another, BLUE, GREEN TO RED.
You can turn them on and off as you choose.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GINAD is loaded.
Additional information about GINAD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The colors are hughes of blue, purple and a yellowish orange.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 1SavvyShopper is loaded.
Additional information about 1SavvyShopper could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The lights rotate from red, to blue to green. They are very subtle.

I didn't find them to be enough light, so I put a solar powdered light (mounted on a stake) under the skirt of several of the ghosts. The uplighting under the skirt which made them even more adorable.

I found turning the lights (in the head of each ghosts) on and off cumbersome, so I just left the lights on.

Extra batteries come with the ghosts and additional ones can be purchased. The batteries are common hearing aid batteries.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lubking is loaded.
Additional information about Lubking could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
You have to turn them on. Rotaing colors, mainly blue, green and red.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about RGPT is loaded.
Additional information about RGPT could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They change from blue, green, red, purple, I think. Plain white would have been better.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about nori is loaded.
Additional information about nori could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Each of the ghosts has three tiny LED bulbs inside the head. They gradually cycle from blue to purple, but there are stages of blue, blue-green, pink, and purple. Each ghost has the same colors, but not necessarily at the same time. The lights do not come on automatically. There is a switch on the underside of the head to turn the lights on.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
User submitted photo
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
VA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MacFamily is loaded.
Additional information about MacFamily could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The LED light in each ghost head changes from red/green/blue. There is an on/off switch on the base of the head.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Colorado, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about la4evershed is loaded.
Additional information about la4evershed could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If I remember correctly, the lights are LED red, blue, and green. I've already packed mine away. There is a switch under the head to turn the lights on and off. They do not come on automatically.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about paintslinger69 is loaded.
Additional information about paintslinger69 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The lights have a little switch the lights are LED they change color. I can't tell you exact color but I did see some blue.they are not very bright. I am going for a scary decor so they don't need to be bright for me . I did read some people added there own lights. Some of the review help me!
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sindy is loaded.
Additional information about Sindy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Yes you can. Problem is, you will be doing a lot since the batteries only last 4 hours per evening. Gets expensive buying the batteries!
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Buford, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Whitelighter38 is loaded.
Additional information about Whitelighter38 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, you can replace the batteries. Extra batteries come with the ghosts, and you can purchase more as needed. I think the batteries are common hearing aid batteries.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lubking is loaded.
Additional information about Lubking could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
they come with a package of nine extra batteries plus one already in the ghost head.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about gbird is loaded.
Additional information about gbird could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They are standard LR44 batteries. My grocery store sells them. You might have to look around to find a bulk pack of enough LR44 cells to resupply 3 ghosts. Any electronics supply store will have them; most larger drugstores and grocery stores have them.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PurpleSwede is loaded.
Additional information about PurpleSwede could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
ghosts already come with batteries installed. And they come with additional 9 batteries.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Pebb is loaded.
Additional information about Pebb could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
My batteries worked for about 2.5 nights. 2 sets of extra batteries come with the ghosts and more batteries should be cheap to replace at the local hardware or pharmacy.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Colorado, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about la4evershed is loaded.
Additional information about la4evershed could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The answer is yes, LR44 batteries, available in many hardware and other stores, and somewhat cheaper online. But as pointed out, they only last 3-4 hours and are relatively expensive. I got tired of replacing them so I bought a 4-AA battery pack and replaced the battery container that comes with the ghosts. Now they run for many nights on standard AA's. Replacing it was easy; bear in mind I'm no electrical guru, just an average Joe. Remove the base from the plastic dome to expose the internals, then unscrew the cardboard base from the light/electrical unit. The existing battery pack easily snaps off. Use a very small standard screwdriver to remove the battery terminals from the battery pack and the wires are easily exposed. The red wire is very short so I threaded the wires back through the cardboard base to get a little extra working length. The wires are extremely thin - thinner than a 20-22 gauge wire cutter - so just gently pinch off about 1/2 inch of wire coating to expose a bit more metal wire. I just twisted the exposed wires to the wires on the battery pack and double-wrapped with electrical tape. I attached the battery pack to the bottom with a hot glue gun. Reassemble and enjoy.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PAlterBoy is loaded.
Additional information about PAlterBoy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
  • 2015-05-26T10:01:27.131-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_41340, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • 2015-05-26T10:01:27.151-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_41340, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
Product:41340-Set of Three Favorite Lighted Staked Halloween Ghosts
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???